How to permanently delete your Facebook account

How to permanently delete your Facebook account

Facebook is arguably one of the best social media sites for staying in touch with friends and family. However, there are times when you might want to step away from the platform for a while, or when you feel embarrassed.

If you want to take a break from social media, consider temporarily disabling your Facebook account. However, if you want to delete it completely, you can also permanently delete your Facebook account. Here's how:

Deactivating and deleting your Facebook account

Deactivating your Facebook account will erase your profile, friends list, likes, comments, shares, chats, photos, and videos. Your profile will no longer be visible to anyone. If you want to use your Facebook account again, you can restore it simply by logging back in.

However, deleting your Facebook account will permanently erase all your data. You will no longer be able to use Facebook or Messenger, or log in to apps connected to your account. Facebook Messenger can be disabled separately from your Facebook account.

Before completely deleting your account, be sure to download your Facebook data archive. Deleting your Facebook account will not affect your Instagram profile.

How to download Facebook data from your mobile phone

Before deleting your account, we recommend taking the time to archive your Facebook data. This will preserve a record of the accounts you follow, posts, messages, photos, and more.

1. on my cell phone Facebook Open the app, menu Move to the section.

2. "Settings and Privacy" Tap, "setting" Select one.

Facebook settings

3. "Information" Move to the section, "Download information" Select one.

Facebook information download option

4. "Request download" Tap the button.

Download Facebook information. Request the download button in the menu.

How to download Facebook data from your PC

1. Log in to your Facebook account on your desktop.

2. Account Click here.

3. From the menu "Settings and Privacy" Select, "setting" Click here.

Facebook Desktop Settings

4. Facebook Information The page will be displayed.

5. "Download information" Next to the option 「表示」 Click the Facebook Desktop Settings button. "Request download" Press the button.

Facebook Desktop Download Information Menu - Download Request Button

How to disable your Facebook account from Android or iPhone

When you want to disable your account, Facebook offers two options: temporarily disable it or permanently delete it. Temporarily disabling your Facebook account is a great way to take a break from the platform, but if you need a permanent solution, you can delete your account.

1.Facebook In the app, menu Move to the section.

2. "Settings and Privacy" Select, "setting" Tap it.

Facebook settings

3. "View details in Account Center" Tap the option.

Facebook Meta Account Center section: View details in Account Center options

4. From the menu "personal information" Select one.

Facebook Account Center Personal Information

5. "Account Ownership and Management" Tap, "Disable or delete" Select one.

6. To temporarily disable your Facebook account, "Deactivate account" Select this option. However, if you want to completely delete your Facebook account, "Delete account" Select one.

Facebook account deactivation or deletion options

7. "Continue" Tap [this button]. Enter your password and confirm your decision.

How to delete your Facebook account from your PC

If you currently don't have access to your mobile phone and want to delete your Facebook account, you can also delete it from your desktop computer or laptop. If you want to start from scratch, consider deleting all your Facebook posts rather than completely deleting your account.

1. On the desktop Facebook Open your account, account Click here.

2. From the menu "Settings and Privacy" Select, "setting" Click here.

Facebook Desktop Settings

3. "View details in Account Center" Click here.

4. From the menu "personal information" Select one.

5. "Account Ownership and Management" Click, "Disable or delete" Select one.

6. To temporarily disable your Facebook account, "Account deactivation" Select an option. To completely delete your account, "Deleting your account" Select one.

7. "Continue" Click. You will be prompted to enter your password for final confirmation.

Options to disable or delete your Facebook desktop account

How to recover a deactivated Facebook account

If you've changed your mind and want to restore your deactivated Facebook account, you can do so by logging back into Facebook or by using your Facebook account to log in to apps and services. If you temporarily deactivated your Facebook account, you can always restore it.

However, if you permanently delete your Facebook account, you must log in again within 30 days of deletion to restore it. If you do not log in again within 30 days, your Facebook account will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered.

Leave Facebook

Whatever your reasons for deciding how long to disable or permanently delete your Facebook account, taking time away from social media is undoubtedly a good thing.

Facebook's Doomscroll is just as addictive as Instagram's. If you're seriously considering deleting your Facebook account, you might as well consider deleting your Instagram account as well.

By stepping away from these platforms, you can focus on things that are more important than consuming social media content.

FAQ

Q. Can I disable Facebook Messenger without deleting my Facebook account?

A. No. To disable Facebook Messenger, you need to delete your Facebook account. However, you can temporarily disable your Facebook account and still use Facebook Messenger.

Q. Does Facebook automatically delete inactive accounts?

A. No. Facebook does not automatically delete inactive accounts. You need to manually deactivate your account.

Q. Can I cancel the deletion of my Facebook account?

A. Yes. Please log back into your account within 30 days of deleting it and cancel your account deletion request.

Q. If I deactivate my Facebook account, will I still receive messages from my friends?

A. Yes. If you continue to use Messenger after deactivating your account, you will still receive messages from your Facebook friends. Using Facebook Messenger will not reactivate your Facebook account.

Q. How long does it take to completely delete a Facebook account?

A. Depending on the amount of information stored on Facebook, it may take up to 90 days for your account to be deleted from Facebook's servers. However, during that time, other users will not be able to view your profile.

Leave a Comment

Comments

No comments yet. Why don’t you start the discussion?

    Leave a comment

    Your email address will not be made public. ※ Fields marked with an asterisk are required.